Retrospective Pedro Costa – Cinema Galeries

Retrospective Pedro Costa

Download programme

Retrospective Pedro Costa

  • CST
Download programme

Introducing

From 17 November to 5 December 2021, Cinema Galeries presents a retrospective of the work of director Pedro Costa, on the occasion of the release of his latest film, Vitalina Varela.

Introducing

From 17 November to 5 December 2021, Cinema Galeries presents a retrospective of the work of director Pedro Costa, on the occasion of the release of his latest film, Vitalina Varela.

True to its vocation of promoting new artistic and cinematographic forms, CINEMA GALERIES wishes to offer, on the occasion of the release of its latest movie “Vitalina Varela“, winner of the Golden Leopard at the Locarno Film Festival 2019, a focus on the work of the director and artist Pedro Costa from 17 November to 5 December 2021. 

National release : Vitalina Varela, 2019.

The work of Pedro Costa is focused on the excluded and the invisible. The majority of his films depict, in a form that mixes fiction and documentary, the daily life of marginalized people and immigrants in Lisbon’s working-class neighbourhoods. The characters on screen play themselves, providing their own words and working as an ad hoc film crew with Costa. The shooting conditions also make it a political cinema, Pedro Costa shoots almost exclusively in real locations and because of his ethics, he shoots on a very low budget. For example, when he directed In Vanda’s Room, he went alone to Fontaínhas every day with his own digital camera. 

His work is characteristic of a melancholic meditation on love and loneliness turned towards Cape Verde, particularly in his film Casa de Lava, and of an immersion in the Cape Verdean immigrant population in Lisbon in the Fontaínhas trilogy, with Ossos (nominated for the Golden Lion Award at the Venice International Film Festival in 1997), In Vanda’s Room and Colossal Youth, exploring the impact of the Carnation Revolution and its consequences for Lisbon’s working class neighbourhoods, a revolution he will revisit with Horse Money in 2014. 

In 2019, five years after receiving the Leopard of Direction at the Locarno Film Festival for Horse Money, Pedro Costa collaborates again with Vitalina Varela on the film of the same name. In this film, the director continues his experimentation with docu-drama, creating a sad story about the life of his actress, taking up a theme left unresolved among the shadows of Lisbon’s poor suburbs, to which Pedro Costa keeps returning. Vitalina Varela was awarded the Golden Leopard, as well as the Leopard for Best Actress.

Programme

Rétrospective Pedro Costa – Cinema Galeries

Rétrospective Pedro Costa

Télécharger le programme

Rétrospective Pedro Costa

  • CST
Télécharger le programme

Introduction

Du 17 novembre au 5 décembre 2021, Cinema Galeries vous propose une retrospective de l’oeuvre du réalisateur Pedro Costa, à l’occasion de la sortie de son dernier film, Vitalina Varela.

Nouveau

Introduction

Du 17 novembre au 5 décembre 2021, Cinema Galeries vous propose une retrospective de l’oeuvre du réalisateur Pedro Costa, à l’occasion de la sortie de son dernier film, Vitalina Varela.

Fidèle à sa vocation de mise en valeur de nouvelles formes artistiques et cinématographiques, le Cinéma Galeries souhaite proposer, à l’occasion de la sortie de son dernier film «Vitalina Varela», léopard d’or du festival de Locarno 2019, un focus sur l’oeuvre du réalisateur et artiste Pedro Costa du 17 novembre au 5 décembre 2021.

Vitalina Varela, 2019

Dans ses oeuvres, Pedro Costa s’intéresse aux exclus et aux invisibles. Une majorité de ses films dépeint, sous une forme entre fiction et documentaire, le quotidien des marginaux et des immigrés des quartiers populaires de Lisbonne. Les personnages à l’écran se jouent eux-mêmes, fournissant leurs propres mots et travaillant en tant qu’équipe de tournage ad hoc avec Costa. Les conditions de tournage en font également un cinéma politique, Pedro Costa n’utilise quasi que des endroits réels et compte tenu de l’éthique du réalisateur, il tourne à très peu de budget. Par exemple, Lorsqu’il a réalisé Dans la chambre de Vanda, il s’est rendu seul quotidiennement à Fontaínhas avec son appareil photo numérique.

Son travail est caractéristique d’une méditation mélancolique sur l’amour et la solitude tournée vers le Cap-vert tout particulièrement par son film Casa de Lava, d’une immersion auprès des populations immigrées cap-verdiennes à Lisbonne par la trilogie de Fontaínhas, avec Ossos (nominé pour le prix du Lion d’or au Festival international du film de Venise en 1997), Dans la chambre de Vanda et En avant Jeunesse, donnant lieu à une exploration de l’impact de la Révolution des oeillets et ses conséquences pour les quartiers populaires de Lisbonne, révolution sur laquelle il reviendra au travers de Cavalo Dinheiro en 2014.

En 2019, cinq ans après avoir reçu le Léopard de la mise en scène au Festival de Locarno pour Cavalo Dinheiro, Pedro Costa collabore de nouveau avec Vitalina Varela sur le film éponyme. Le réalisateur y poursuit ses expériences en matière de docu-fiction, créant ainsi un récit triste de la vie de son actrice, reprenant un propos laissé en suspens parmi les ombres des banlieues pauvres de Lisbonne, vers lesquelles Pedro Costa revient sans cesse. Avec Vitalina Varela, le réalisateur décroche le Léopard d’or, ainsi que le léopard de la meilleure interprétation pour Vitalina à l’occasion de cette édition du festival.

Programme