RETROSPECTIVE ALEKSANDR SOKUROV – Cinema Galeries

RETROSPECTIVE ALEKSANDR SOKUROV

  • CST

Introducing

With the supervision of ALEKSANDR SOKUROV12.09>28.11.2013 . GALLERIES . Opening hours 14:00 – 20:00 (except Mondays)*. Aleksandr Sokurov’s films are characterised by powerful images that refer to existing paintings. In addition, with Russian Ark, he made one of the most important films about the Hermitage Museum.

Introducing

With the supervision of ALEKSANDR SOKUROV12.09>28.11.2013 . GALLERIES . Opening hours 14:00 – 20:00 (except Mondays)*. Aleksandr Sokurov’s films are characterised by powerful images that refer to existing paintings. In addition, with Russian Ark, he made one of the most important films about the Hermitage Museum.

With the supervision of ALEKSANDR SOKUROV
12.09>28.11.2013 . GALLERIES .

Opening hours 14:00 – 20:00 (except Mondays)*.

Aleksandr Sokurov’s films are characterised by powerful images that refer to existing paintings.

The film is like a grand tour of this enormous museum. And the elegy for which he travelled from Russia to the Boijmans Van Beuningen Museum is also a translation of his passion for the ‘museum’ as a form of expression. Through the experience of time and the cinematic style that Sokorov employs, his cinema can also be compared to a meditative walk that refers to the sobriety of a museum visit. From September to November, Sokurov’s film work and his knowledge of museums will be presented in Brussels. BOZAR, CINEMATEK and GALERIES will present a major retrospective of his films in parallel with the exhibition “The Heroic” in the underground exhibition space of GALERIES.

His fiction and documentary films will be presented in three linked programme sections. BOZAR presents the premiere of Faust and a documentary programme, CINEMATEK presents the programme “Fantasies and Elegies” and finally, in GALERIES, there is the cycle “Art and People at War” in dialogue with the exhibition on the looting of the Iraq Museum during the occupation of Baghdad in 2003. The Braves” questions the looting of the Iraq Museum and other tragedies that have affected Iraq’s historical heritage since the beginning of the conflict in 1990. The exhibition is structured as a kind of documentary on the traces of these disconcerting events, gradually unfolding in the space through projections of photographic archives. It is a tribute to all those who, under impossible circumstances, have continued to fight to save this heritage.

Programme

RETROSPECTIVE ALEKSANDR SOKUROV – Cinema Galeries

RETROSPECTIVE ALEKSANDR SOKUROV

  • CST

Avec la supervision d’ALEKSANDR SOKUROV
12.09>28.11.2013 . GALERIES .

Heures d’ouverture 14:00 – 20:00 ( sauf le lundi)*.

Les films d’Aleksandr Sokurov se caractérisent par des images puissantes qui font référence à des peintures existantes.

En outre, avec Russian Ark, il a réalisé l’un des films les plus importants sur le musée de l’Ermitage. Le film consiste en un seul plan comme une grande visite de cet énorme musée. Et l’élégie pour laquelle il s’est rendu de Russie au musée Boijmans Van Beuningen est aussi la traduction de sa passion pour le « musée » en tant que forme d’expression. A travers l’expérience du temps et le style cinématographique que Sokorov emploie, son cinéma peut aussi être comparé à une promenade méditative qui renvoie à la sobriété d’une visite de musée. De septembre à novembre, l’œuvre cinématographique de Sokurov et ses connaissances muséographiques seront présentées à Bruxelles. BOZAR, CINEMATEK et GALERIES présenteront une grande rétrospective de ses films en parallèle avec l’exposition « The Heroic » dans l’espace d’exposition souterrain de GALERIES.

Ses films de fiction et ses documentaires seront présentés dans trois sections de programme liées entre elles. BOZAR présente la première de Faust et un programme documentaire, CINEMATEK présente le programme « Fantaisies et élégies » et enfin, dans GALERIES, il y a le cycle « Art et peuple en guerre » en dialogue avec l’exposition sur le pillage du Musée de l’Irak pendant l’occupation de Bagdad en 2003. L’exposition « The Braves » s’interroge sur le pillage du Musée de l’Irak et sur d’autres drames qui ont affecté le patrimoine historique de l’Irak depuis le début des conflits en 1990. L’exposition est structurée comme une sorte de documentaire sur les traces de ces événements déconcertants, se déployant progressivement dans l’espace à travers des projections d’archives photographiques. Un hommage à tous ceux qui, dans des circonstances impossibles, ont continué à se battre pour sauver ce patrimoine.

28.11 ¦ 20:00 ALEXANDRA (ALEKSANDR SOKUROV, 2007, 95′, VO ST BIL)

23.11 ¦ 19:00 EXPOSITION  » The braves. Un regard sur les efforts internationaux pour protéger le patrimoine culturel de l’Irak « , et un débat d’idées sur la lutte contre le commerce illégal d’antiquités.

21.11 ¦ 20:00 WE NEED HAPPINESS (ALEKSANDR SOKUROV & ALEXEI JANKOWSKI, 2010, 64′, VO ST FR)

18.11 ¦ 20:00 PRÊTRAD. UNE RÉTROSPECTION. 1957-1990 (ALEKSANDR SOKUROV & ALEXEI JANKOWSKI, 1990, 110′, VO ST ANGL)

28.10 ¦ 20:00 CONFESSION (ALEKSANDR SOKUROV, 1998, 260′, VO ST FR)

24.10 ¦ 20:00 A SIMPLE ELEGY (ALEKSANDR SOKUROV, 1990, 20′, PAS DE DIALOGUE / NO DIALOGUE)

17.10 ¦ 20:00 SPIRITUAL VOICES, PART 2 (ALEKSANDR SOKUROV, 1995, 168′, CHAPITRES 4-5, VO ST FR)

10.10 ¦ 20:00 SPIRITUAL VOICES, PART 1 (ALEKSANDR SOKUROV, 1995, 156′, CHAPITRES 1-3, VO ST FR) Spiritual Voices est un « journal de guerre, une narration en cinq chapitres », présenté ici en deux séances. Aux confins du Tadjikistan et de l’Afghanistan, Aleksandr

03.10 ¦ 20:00 ET RIEN DE PLUS (ALEKSANDR SOKUROV, 1987, 70′)

23.09 ¦ 20:00 INDIFFÉRENCE DOULOUREUSE (ALEKSANDR SOKUROV, 1987, 110′, VO ST ANGL)

16.09 ¦ 20:00 SONATE POUR ALTO. DMITRI SHOSTAKOVICH (ALEKSANDR SOKUROV, 1981, 75′, VO ST FR)

13.09 ¦ 20:00 A LONELY VOICE OF MAN (ALEKSANDR SOKUROV,1978-1987, 87′, VO ST ANGL)

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES :

PRIX : 6€ PAR SÉANCE 25€ / 15€ PASS FILMS AUX GALERIES + EXPO

PROGRAMMATION : CELINE BROUWEZ, ALEXEI JANKOWSKI, DOMINIQUE PAÏNI

EN COOPÉRATION AVEC : BOZAR, CINEMATEK, LE CENTRE CULTUREL RUSSE, L’AMBASSADE DE LA FÉDÉRATION DE RUSSIE AU ROYAUME DE BELGIQUE

REMERCIEMENTS À : TONIE DEWAELE, JULIETTE DURET, ALEXEI JANKOWSKI

AVEC NOS PARTENAIRES :
– CINEMATEK www.cinematek.be
10.09.2013 – 19:00 Master class avec Sokurov
10.09 > 29.10.2013 Rétrospective (18.09 > 30.10.2013 à FLAGEY www.flagey.be)
– BOZAR www.bozar.be
11.09.2013 – 20:00 Première de Faust (Aleksandr Sokurov, 2012, 134′) + rencontre avec Aleksandr Sokurov & Christophe Verbiest
17.11.2013 Rétrospective : Les Elégies.

Programme