Lumi – followed by a Q&A with the artists Zimmerfrei – Cinema Galeries

Lumi – followed by a Q&A with the artists Zimmerfrei

Directed byZimmerFrei
  • ORIGINAL LANGUAGE IT
  • SUBTITLES EN
  • CST

Introducing

Revolving around the ideas of identity politics, otherness and communion, Lumi is a film where seeing becomes a social act, where seeing is no longer equivalent to a direct perceptual act but to the “racial production of the visible”.

Synopsis

LUMI bases its artistic research on recent sociological and anthropological studies, but it is mainly inspired by real people encountered by ZimmerFrei during their latest documentary peregrinations, which have given rise to a fictional, or rather staged documentary, work that registers the loss of effectiveness of the word 'identity'. It is no longer understood as a single definition, but rather as a need for recognition, an interweaving of similarities and differences.

Introducing

Revolving around the ideas of identity politics, otherness and communion, Lumi is a film where seeing becomes a social act, where seeing is no longer equivalent to a direct perceptual act but to the “racial production of the visible”.

Synopsis

LUMI bases its artistic research on recent sociological and anthropological studies, but it is mainly inspired by real people encountered by ZimmerFrei during their latest documentary peregrinations, which have given rise to a fictional, or rather staged documentary, work that registers the loss of effectiveness of the word 'identity'. It is no longer understood as a single definition, but rather as a need for recognition, an interweaving of similarities and differences.

Additional information

Screening followed by a Q&A with the artists Zimmerfrei and the curators Martina Angelotti, Matteo Lucchetti, Daniel Blanga Gubbay.

Lumi – suivi d’un Q&A avec les artistes Zimmerfrei – Cinema Galeries

Lumi – suivi d’un Q&A avec les artistes Zimmerfrei

Réalisé parZimmerFrei
  • LANGUE(S) ORIGINALE(S) IT
  • SOUS-TITRES EN
  • CST

Introduction

Tournant autour des idées de politique identitaire, d’altérité et de communion, Lumi est un film où la vision devient un acte social, où voir n’est plus l’équivalent d’un acte perceptif direct mais de la « production raciale du visible ».

Synopsis

LUMI fonde sa recherche artistique sur des études sociologiques et anthropologiques récentes, mais il s'inspire surtout de personnes réelles rencontrées par ZimmerFrei lors de leur dernières pérégrinations documentaires, qui ont donné naissance à une œuvre fictionnelle, ou plutôt documentaire mise en scène, qui enregistre la perte d'efficacité du mot "identité". Celle-ci n'est plus comprise comme une définition unique, mais plutôt comme un besoin de reconnaissance, un entrelacement de similitudes et de différences.

Introduction

Tournant autour des idées de politique identitaire, d’altérité et de communion, Lumi est un film où la vision devient un acte social, où voir n’est plus l’équivalent d’un acte perceptif direct mais de la « production raciale du visible ».

Synopsis

LUMI fonde sa recherche artistique sur des études sociologiques et anthropologiques récentes, mais il s'inspire surtout de personnes réelles rencontrées par ZimmerFrei lors de leur dernières pérégrinations documentaires, qui ont donné naissance à une œuvre fictionnelle, ou plutôt documentaire mise en scène, qui enregistre la perte d'efficacité du mot "identité". Celle-ci n'est plus comprise comme une définition unique, mais plutôt comme un besoin de reconnaissance, un entrelacement de similitudes et de différences.

Informations additionnelles

Séance suivie d’un Q&A avec les artistes Zimmerfrei et les commissaires Martina Angelotti, Matteo Lucchetti, Daniel Blanga Gubbay.